Jambo

Jambo. This past week has been quite a ride, physically and emotionally. We have seen close to if not over 1,000 people we are guessing and are averaging 130 a day in the clinic. Then there is the team out in the field that sees approximately 150 people a day. So add those together and we are treating about 280 people a day! There have been some extremely sad and hard cases to deal with here. You will NEVER see anything like it in the states.

Yesterday I went out to a remote village with a team of 8 people including myself and it was probably the saddest day of my life. We saw about 130 people and when we left to get back to the compound there were still tons of people waiting to be seen. The sad reality of it is the ones who didn’t get to be seen probably won’t be able to for about another year when a new team comes through, and that is hoping that that team goes back to that specific village. I am amazed at how patient they all are here. They wake up at 3 or 4 in the morning and walk for miles and miles (if they are able) to come see us and wait in line for hours to be seen. I don’t know a single person on this planet that is as patient as they are, I know I am not!

There is so much that needs to be done to help the people here. We are barely scratching the surface. After a visit to New Hope International Hospital we found that the construction has been halted due to funds. The closest hospital is in Arusha and that is about an hour drive away. Keep in mind that most people here do not have cars and they have to walk that distance. This hospital would be so instrumental to this area, it is so sad that people have to suffer because there isn’t adequate health care facilities close by. I am wishing with all my heart that a miracle happens soon and construction on the hospital can start back up again.

I am not going to be describing the things that we are seeing here on this blog because one I haven’t even begun to process what I am truly seeing it and two, it’s so hard to explain it to someone who isn’t here to see it for themselves. I am keeping a journal and am writing in it everyday. You are more than welcome to thumb through it when I come home and read about what exactly we saw. I hope you all are doing wonderful back home.

Sunny

Published in: on May 28, 2009 at 1:40 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sunnyinafrica.wordpress.com/2009/05/28/jambo-2/trackback/

